*
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 22, 2012, 10:17:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Tools
Help
Advanced search
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Wicca School (not Witchschool)  (Read 1900 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Blayze
Regular
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 47



WWW
« on: December 20, 2007, 05:15:30 AM »

Hi all,

In the long-running fight against those who steal our articles and post them on their own sites....

I may have found another one of mine on a PAID site!

I couldn't email the webmasters as I couldn't find any email links. The site does allow some guest access, but of course, the intro paragraph that is the opening paragraph of my article was all I could see. I'm not paying $45 to join an online course that looks absolutely awful.

Anyhow, they, the "Magic Chalice School Of Wicca" (eeek) are a Witchvox sponsor, so I finally managed to email the HPS from there.

I have asked them to send me the text of their Incense article.

So, has anyone heard of these people? Are they actually reputable and this could just be co-incidence and a mistake?

Then again, they have online dedication rituals... 'nuff said.

Bright blessings
Blayze
Logged
Gryphon
Administrator
Regular
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 398


Pagan Kids books!


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2007, 06:53:25 AM »

Theft is theft, she took your article without permission PLUS she's using it to earn money and advertise her shop as well.

She has a myspace page and a list of recommended books. Authors include Cunningham, Buckland, Lady Sheba and $ilverRavingWoof.

'nough said.
Logged

Pagan picture books at http://magicalchild.handcraftedpagan.com Collect all five!
Gryphon
Administrator
Regular
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 398


Pagan Kids books!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2007, 06:58:00 AM »

Speaking of "borrowed" articles, I came across a site that had 5!!! of my articles in their entirety. I never heard of this woman and certainly didn't grant her permission. All of the articles where taken verbatim from Witchvox. There was no contact information of any type on the site.

I'm finding that once you post something on the internet any Tom Dick or Moonbeam thinks it's there for what ever use they can put to it. One reason I stopped writing articles for Witchvox. I just wish there was something us author's and artists could do to stop this blatant thievery!
Logged

Pagan picture books at http://magicalchild.handcraftedpagan.com Collect all five!
Lark
Administrator
Regular
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1204


Crazy Lady With Cats


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2007, 07:06:48 AM »

Oh hell, that's a bummer.

I'm not familiar with that particular site, but using your material without permission and charging for it can get them in really big trouble.  If you don't hear back from the webmistress (and I doubt you will) I would certainly contact their ISP and complain.  I've done that in the past over some of my pieces that were stolen and the sites were immediatly shut down.  In this case the person has two different sites, so you might want to complain to both.  There is a a contact e-mail for the owner at http://www.magickchalice.com/

The two URL's are:
http://www.magickchalice.com/wicca/
 http://www.magickchalice.com/witchschool

By the way, I happened to get into their message board and all I see were complaints from students about being unable to contact their mentors, not getting grades, etc.  Sounds like a pretty bad site that's taking money and not providing the service paid for.

And if you want to find out if your stuff has been stolen to anywhere else, try this site:  http://www.copyscape.com/  It's a free website where you can look to see if any of your material has been copied anywhere on the web.

You might also want to drop a line to Fritz and Wren at Witchvox and complain to them about this.  They may want to pull the listing.

-Lark-
Logged

The behaviors you tolerate become your standards."
Blayze
Regular
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 47



WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2007, 04:38:58 AM »

Thanks everyone!

Still no reply as yet. However we now know their ISP and how to contact it.

Before I do so, I really do need to know if she has the full article or just the (apparently the same) intro as mine.

Happy Solstice to all,

Blayze
Logged
Zenon
Regular
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 376



« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2007, 06:17:22 PM »

man, those look like really cheap sites.
Logged

quot;A belief is purely an individual matter, and you cannot and must not organize it. If you do, it becomes dead, crystallized; it becomes a creed, a sect, a religion, to be imposed on others."  - Jiddu Krishnamurti
Rin
Guest
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2008, 06:47:21 PM »

Quote from: "Blayze"
Thanks everyone!

Still no reply as yet. However we now know their ISP and how to contact it.

Before I do so, I really do need to know if she has the full article or just the (apparently the same) intro as mine.

Happy Solstice to all,

Blayze


If the intro is copied word for word, its plargarism.

I have little sympathy for plagarists.
Logged
Still Kate
Regular
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 299


« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2008, 01:09:02 PM »

I'm wondering if anyone has thought to set up a site that you could register (so to speak) any literature that you have written, a bit like a registered trade mark, then if anyone nicks it and republishes it under their own name then the site helps you follow the right channels to sue that person or at least get their site shut down.  As stated in one of the replies here, it is possible to check if anything has been published without your knowledge.

I'm not brainy enough to set up anything remotely like this on the web ..... I can just about do my grocery shopping on-line, any way .... just a thought......

Blessings
Kate. xx
Logged
Lark
Administrator
Regular
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1204


Crazy Lady With Cats


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2008, 07:31:35 AM »

Quote from: "Blayze"
Thanks everyone!

Still no reply as yet. However we now know their ISP and how to contact it.

Before I do so, I really do need to know if she has the full article or just the (apparently the same) intro as mine.

Happy Solstice to all,

Blayze


So Blayze,

Any update on this?  Have you heard anything back from them?  Or have you contacted their ISP?  We're curious on whether the site has cooperated.  If it doesn't I'd sure like to start letting people on-line that mention the school know that there is an issue.

-Lark-
Logged

The behaviors you tolerate become your standards."
Blayze
Regular
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 47



WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2008, 05:43:42 AM »

No word.

I'm going to have a trawl through the site again and email from a couple of different areas.

I've been very busy and have had the time to follow it up. I will post any new info here though Smiley

BB

Blayze
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to:  

Recent Post
by Lark
[May 01, 2012, 05:20:23 AM]

[April 29, 2012, 07:33:04 PM]

by Lark
[April 23, 2012, 05:40:48 AM]

[April 21, 2012, 07:07:15 AM]

[February 19, 2012, 08:12:16 PM]
Members
Total Members: 65
Latest: violetwillow
Stats
Total Posts: 8530
Total Topics: 1366
Online Today: 17
Online Ever: 164
(March 21, 2011, 06:41:57 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 12
Total: 12
Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
TinyPortal v0.9.8 © Bloc